James Bliss & Annette Sward Forestry & Nursing Scholarship

MPC Nursing Students - http://www.mpc.edu/academics/quick-links/maurine-church-coburn-school-of-nursing
The James Bliss and Annette Sward Forestry and Nursing Scholarship Fund of the Community Foundation of Monterey County was created as a memorial to James Bliss in the year 2000.

Jim was a resident of Monterey County, California for 25 years and active in firefighting and prevention for 38 years. Jim retired as Chief of Command and Control for the California Department of Forestry Fire Protection in 1998. He was based in Sacramento, California at the time of his death.

The Fund was established with gifts from his wife Annette Sward and members and friends of the Bliss family, as a permanent endowment fund. The expressed purpose of the fund is to award scholarships to one or more students in Monterey, San Benito or Santa Cruz counties each year to financially aid students enrolled in the challenging curriculum.

Selection Process

The Scholarship Committees select the annual award winners in accordance with the selection criteria below. Each is permitted to award one or more scholarships up to the annual available fund distribution balance. The number of scholarships specified for any given year is limited to ensure the sustainability of the fund and may vary. In 2015, those numbers will be: Monterey Peninsula College School of Nursing, eleven ($1,000 each); Monterey Peninsula College Fire Academy, three ($1,000 each); Pacific Grove High School, two ($1,000 each). Additionally, several scholarships will be available to students not enrolled in these schools. Applications for this portion of the scholarship may be downloaded below and will be reviewed by the Bliss/Sward Scholarship Committee.

Selection Criteria

Students from Monterey, San Benito or Santa Cruz counties who are pursuing post-secondary programs in nursing, fire science, forest conservation/management or paramedic/EMT at any accredited school or institution in California are eligible to apply.

Winners will be selected annually by the scholarship committee based on the following specific criteria:

  • Financial need;
  • Demonstrated scholastic or vocational ability;
  • Applicants eligibility for acceptance or current enrollment in any post-secondary education program at any accredited post-secondary school or institution in California;
  • Applicants proposed status must be least a half-time student during the academic year semester or quarter for which the scholarship is awarded.

The James Bliss and Annette Sward for Forestry and Nursing scholarship committee will evaluate applications, interview finalists as needed and select the recipients. Incomplete applications will not be considered. The recipients will be chosen by the scholarship committee.

Download Application

Please print and mail the application to the following address:

Bliss/Sward Scholarship Committee
PO Box 1608
Monterey, CA 93940